Pag-asa / Hope

Author’s Note: About the pic – sunrise signifies hope, hence, the picture. This is to someone who’s going through so much pain and losing faith. This is originally written in my native tongue, Filipino/Tagalog. Luckily, I had the time this morning and afternoon (at work) so I was able to write the English version. Although, I must say, I have to change some of the words (i.e. not a literal Filipino-English translation) so that it would still sound like a poem.

Filipino and Original Version:

Mundo ay biglang tumigil sa pag-ikot
Gisingin mo ako sa aking bangungot
Paano mapapawi ang aking lungkot?
Maging matatag ngunit saan huhugot?

Hindi ko maintindihan ang pakay Nya
Nagtatanong, nagtataka, sa’n pupunta?
Paano ako muling magtitiwala?
Saan aasa? Wala namang himala

Paano papawiin ang pagdurusa?
Paano haharapin ang umaga?
Muli Mo akong bigyan ng pag-asa
Tulungan Mo akong muling magtiwala

English Version:

The world suddenly stopped from turning
It’s a nightmare, am I just dreaming?
How do I erase all my sadness?
Be strong, but all I have is weakness

I will not understand Your reasons
Where to go? All I have are questions
How will I learn to trust You again?
How to hope when there’s no miracle?

How to take away the sufferings?
How do I smile and face each morning?
Lord, please give me another hope
Lord, please teach me to trust You to cope

– written on May 22, 2015

Leave a Reply

