Dream (Cold Dark Night)

photo obtained from: https://www.flickr.com/photos/107745485@N05/10814232105 (posted by userid nicole6hall in flickr.com

photo obtained from: https://www.flickr.com/photos/107745485@N05/10814232105 (posted by userid nicole6hall in flickr.com

Authors’ Notes:
1. I originally wrote this ages ago – during my teen years – for my crush. 😉 Teenage crush, what a nostalgic feeling!
2. I’ve been wanting to rewrite/edit my past writings so here’s what I’ve (re)written on my way to work this morning. The original is also posted here. I still want to keep the original words/phrases as much as possible to stay true to my emotions and state at the time of writing. I also want to change the title to “Cold Dark Night”, so I just put it in ().

Every time I pause and close my eyes
It’s you I see even in the dark
You’re standing there, beneath the moonlight
You’re waiting for something, may be someone
I could almost feel your heart’s beating fast
Oh, did you just feel that cool breeze blow by?
For at last I see you smiling tonight

Even if this night is cold and dark
You bring warmth and light to the spot
Then, I hear your voice, soft gentle whispers –
Whispers that are loud and clear to my heart
And now we’re getting closer and closer
I could almost touch you but suddenly you’re gone
Then it just hit me! These are not real
All these are only in my sleep…

Original:

Every time I pause and close my eyes
I always see you even in the dark
You’re standing there, waiting for someone to come
I see you underneath the moonlight,
I could almost feel your heart’s beating so fast
You could almost feel the cool breeze blowing by
At last, I see you smiling in the dark

Even if it is cold and dark,
You still brighten up the spot.
There, I hear your whispers,
Loud and clear to my heart
It seems like we are getting even closer,
But you go away and leave me behind
Cause I know, these things aren’t real,
These things are only in my sleep…

– originally written on September 21, 1998

Leave a Reply

