Another Monotony

routine

photo credit to dreamstime.com

Author’s Note: I wrote a poem with the title “Monotony” last year, hence, I’m calling this “Another Monotony”.

It’s 4:45, it’s time to wake up
I need to rush and catch my train
Or I will be grumpy and late
But I always see things in gray
Set in a film that’s black and white
It’s another ordinary day
It’s not amusing, it’s just routine

I spend the hours at the office
I waste my precious time drifting –
Going along or zoning out
As if I am really working hard
I’m still in a film set in black and white
So I try to paint colours and hue
But I fail and I’m left without a clue

Finally, it’s time to go home
This is what I am waiting for
Now I see a rainbow, my paradise
My only escape from melancholy
It’s marking the end of insanity
Wishing for tonight to never end
For when I wake up, all is the same

– May 12, 2016

6 thoughts on “Another Monotony

  1. Don’t you hate it when life gets like that!? I hope you find something to brighten up your monotony! How about taking a detour past somewhere where you can try a new icecream flavour?? πŸ˜€

    • yes, indeed. it’s such a waste of time. i always try to look forward something to my day but recently, i’m just looking forward to the end of day and a new ice cream flavour sounds nice, a gelato too. πŸ™‚

      p.s. thanks for the comment and liking the post.

      • No worries 😊 I always appreciate comments on my poems so I try to make sure I leave one when someone else’s poem clicks with me, like this one! πŸ˜„ I hope you find an awesome new icecream flavour πŸ˜‰ haha

      • Any recommendation for an ice cream flavour? My friend told me she tasted lavender ice cream over the wkend. That sounds interesting but she was in a lavender farm at that time. Don’t think it’s available somewhere neat.

      • Hmmm, actually I think I need to try some new icecream flavours too, there’s no icecream shop in my small town, bummer! πŸ˜‚ lavender sounds great! I’d like to take a really wild jump and try savoury icecream, but tomato soup icecream might be going too far. Personally my go-to icecream flavours are caramel and berry flavours, and I will always say yes to dipping salty chips (hot or cold) in! πŸ˜‰ let me know what you find out there in the wild big icecream world! πŸ˜€

      • the first question i asked my friend was, “does it taste like perfume or soap?” haha πŸ™‚ kinda weird for an ice cream flavour to be honest but i would definitely like to try that lavender ice cream. i was in vancouver once and a friend took me to a gelato place where they offer hundreds of flavours. there was kimchi ice cream and curry ice cream, too! i tried the curry ice cream, it’s weird. i love indian food but really weird for an ice cream. hehe my go to are anything chocolate or something with a hint of chocolate (except mint). i also like frozen strawberry yogurt. yum πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

