Life Is Strange

Capture

photo credit to playstation.com

Author’s Note: I’m hooked at this video game, Life Is Strange, developed by Dontnod Entertainment and published by Square Enix. The first two lines in italics (except the word tornado) are taken directly from the game; I wrote the rest. This is the first few scenes of the game.

“Where am I? What’s happening?
I’m trapped in a storm… a tornado…”

I woke up from a vision of catastrophe
I was there and it felt like a reality
But I was actually in my photography class
Thinking about my photo for my prof’s ask
But I felt insecure, having a melt down
So I went to the bathroom, tried not to frown
When out of nowhere, a blue butterfly flew by
I must take a pic, I won’t let this moment fly
Then I heard voices, a heated argument
It was my classmate and someone I haven’t met
I heard a shot and witnessed her fell; was she killed?
I reached out then suddenly the time stood still…

Then I woke up again, I was in the exact class
Whoa! This already happened, a repeat of the past
Or was it merely a dream? I needed to find out
Maybe I could still keep her from getting shot
I retraced my steps and there was the butterfly
Then the argument – must save her, she must not die
Same things did happen until I prevented the crime
Strange! Did I gain a power to rewind time?
Did I really save her but who was she?
And there was still this vision of tragedy
This felt weird, maybe I was still stuck in a dream
Or maybe I could use this to change the scheme…

– July 13, 2016

Leave a Reply

