Getting Through The Day

img_20161016_095921

I’m feeling the chill now;
It’s getting darker, too
Do you think it’s going to be nice?
Sunny and bright?
Do you look forward to each day?
Or do you want to just get through the day?

It’s been a challenge –
Counting the seconds, counting the minutes
Good thing you’re here with me
Putting a light to my dim little world
Somehow, I need to get by and I need you
I need you to get me through the day

As I watch the people pass by
I wonder how they cope, how they keep up
Are the happy faces just masks?
Pretending they have worry-free lives?
Do they look forward to their day?
Or are they just living it, surviving?

It’s been a struggle –
Counting the hours, counting the days
Good thing you’re here with me
Brightening this gloomy little spot
Somehow, I need to get by and I need you
I need you to get me through the day

So here I am seeing the leaves fall
The sceneries are changing hues
It’s pretty, it’s lovely
Yet there’s something that seems dull
Am I looking forward to the season change?
Or am I afraid to know what’s next?

And it’s never been easy –
Always hoping for time to speed up
So thank you for being here with me
Bringing laughter and a smile to my lips
I no longer have to get by
Now, I look forward to each day

So thank you for always being here with me
I no longer have to get through my days

– September 22, 2016

Leave a Reply

